Vaya Health posted its Fiscal Year (FY) 2017-2018 Budget and submitted it to the Vaya Health Board of Directors on May 23, 2017. An initial public hearing was held at the regularly-scheduled meeting of the Board of Directors on May 25, 2017. A second public hearing was held June 22, 2017.

For further information or to inspect the proposed FY 2017-2018 Budget, please contact Ryon Barber, Clerk to the Board at 828-225-2785, ext. 1109, or by email at

pdf-1 Proposed Budget, Fiscal Year 2017-2018

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the comprehensive, collaborative planning and budgeting of publicly-funded, community-based mental health, intellectual/developmental disabilities, and substance use (MH/IDD/SU) services for our members. The Board appoints our CEO, oversees compliance, approves the annual budget, and establishes policy guidelines for the management to administer services in a way that meets the diverse needs of the community.

Board membership includes representatives from county government, consumers, family members and community leaders, as well as professionals in health, health insurance and human service related fields.

The Board composition is governed by N.C.G.S. 122C-118.1, which requires certain qualifications and allows for no more than 21 voting members.

Current Vaya Health Board of Directors

Nancy Baker, CFAC Representative
Ronnie Beale, Macon County Commissioner
Billy Kennedy, Watauga County Commissioner
Ira Dove, Haywood County Manager
Joyce Edwards, Social Services Director (retired), Caldwell County
Rick French, Alexander County Manager
Jeff Heck, MD, President & CEO MAHEC
Judy Johannsen, CFAC Representative
Michael Lavender, Director of External Relations, McDowell Technical College
Pat McGinnis, CFAC Representative
Marche Pittman, Polk County Manager
Mandy Stone, Asst. Buncombe County Manager
Jeanne Duncan, President, Vaya Health Provider Council
Jack Cahn, MD, Retired Physician
Steve Smith, Henderson County Health Director


County Commissioner Advisory Board

The County Commissioner Advisory Board serves as the chief advisory board to the CEO and management about the delivery of public MH/IDD/SU services in the catchment area. The County Commissioner Advisory Board serves solely in an advisory capacity and does not have authority over budgeting, personnel matters, governance or policy making. The Advisory Board meets quarterly.

Each County Board of Commissioners designates a commissioner they wish to serve on the County Commissioner Advisory Board. Current membership includes:

Ronnie Reese, Alexander County Commissioner
Wade Bobby Irwin, Alleghany County Commissioner
Paula Perry, Ashe County Commissioner
Tim Phillips, Avery County Commissioner
Brownie Newman, Buncombe County Commissioner
Mike LaBrose, Caldwell County Commissioner
Gary Westmoreland, Cherokee County Commissioner
Clay Logan, Clay County Commissioner
Connie Orr, Graham County Commissioner
Bill Upton, Haywood County Commissioner
Charles Messer, Henderson County Commissioner
Brian McMahan, Jackson County Commissioner
Ronnie Beale, Macon County Commissioner
Wayne Brigman, Madison County Commissioner
Barry McPeters, McDowell County Commissioner
Jacob Willis, Mitchell County Commissioner
Jake Johnson, Polk County Commissioner
Bryan King, Rutherford County Commissioner
Phil Carson, Swain County Commissioner
Page Lemel, Transylvania County Commissioner
Billy Kennedy, Watauga County Commissioner
Gary D. Blevins, Wilkes County Commissioner
Jeff Whitson, Yancey County Commissioner

Related Pages

Call 1-800-849-6127 toll free 24/7 to obtain services and support for mental health, developmental disabilities and substance abuse. Members can request materials in Spanish or English.

Llamar al número gratuito 1-800-849-6127 24/7 para obtener servicios y apoyo a la salud mental, discapacidades de desarrollo y abuso de sustancias. Los miembros pueden solicitar materiales en español o Inglés.